About NOVA

NOVA was created to develop and disseminate a national framework for enhancing science, mathematics and technology literacy for preservice teachers in the 21st century. The lead institutions of the NOVA consortium, consisting of:

University of Alabama
University of Texas - Tyler
Fayetteville State University
California State Polytechnic University

Miami University

and a network of 101 other member institutions are working to produce enhanced scientific literacy for preservice teachers. This decade long effort (1995-2006) is being accomplished through the demonstration of an undergraduate science and mathematics course framework, examples of successful course models, and a mentoring support system for faculty wishing to implement new courses or modify existing courses at their universities. The framework uses interactive learning and integrates science, mathematics and technology as a means of developing a new paradigm for educating preservice teachers.

NASA’s financial support of NOVA ended on September 30, 2006. This website provides an archive of the NOVA initiative. In 2006, the National Science Foundation funded the University of Alabama to study the impact of a subset of NOVA institutions and courses on elementary teachers who completed NOVA courses. This site will link to the new project in the near future. 

Contact NOVA

For information regarding NOVA, contact:

Dr. Michael R. L. Odell
University of Texas - Tyler

For information regarding the NSF-supported "National Study on Reform Undergraduate Science Courses," contact:

Dr. Dennis Sunal
University of Alabama